Key Takeaways

  • Published Mexican clinic prices currently run from about $1,750 to $18,499, with orthopedic packages commonly between $2,500 and $9,500. Panama’s best-known clinic starts at $26,900 for adults.
  • The price gap against US clinics is smaller than most people expect for joint injections. Peer-reviewed work found US clinics averaging about $5,100, which sits inside the Mexican range. The real gap is in intravenous and multi-condition protocols that US clinics largely cannot sell.
  • “COFEPRIS certified” is a facility permit, not a treatment approval. In a study of 76 Tijuana clinics, 13 claimed COFEPRIS licensing and only one matched official records.
  • The CDC documented three US patients in 2024 who developed Mycobacterium abscessus infections after stem cell injections at three different Mexican clinics. One required more than three months of multidrug therapy.
  • The worst documented outcome in this literature happened in Florida, not abroad. Three women were left effectively blind after a $5,000 procedure at a US clinic they found through ClinicalTrials.gov.
  • US courts generally lack jurisdiction over foreign physicians, travel insurance excludes medical tourism, and your health plan will not pay for the treatment but will be billed for the complication.

Why people go, and why that deserves respect

Before any of the cautions, the honest part.

People fly to Tijuana and Cancún and Panama City for reasons that are not stupid. A peer-reviewed review of stem cell tourism listed the motivations as cost, perceived quality of care, long waiting times, domestic restrictions, inability to participate in clinical trials, and lack of access to unapproved treatments.

Most of the people we talk to about this are not chasing a miracle. They have a knee that has hurt for six years, they have been told to wait until they are old enough for a replacement, and someone in a Facebook group posted a price and a photograph of a beach. That is a rational response to a system that has told them no.

So this article is not going to tell you that America is safe and Mexico is dangerous. That framing is both condescending and factually wrong, and we will show you why with the evidence. What it will do is put real numbers next to real trade-offs so you can decide with the whole picture.

What the packages actually cost

These are published prices from clinic websites, checked in August 2026. They change without notice, so screenshot whatever you are quoted.

Destination Published range Notes on what is bundled
Tijuana and Guadalajara $3,999 to $18,499 Tiered by cell count from 25 million to 250 million, with exosomes, a vitamin IV, and hotel nights added at higher tiers. A 3 percent surcharge on card payments.
Tijuana, second clinic $1,500 to $10,000 Orthopedic $2,185 to $8,223; neurological $8,664 to $9,775. Includes evaluation, transport coordination, and follow-up at 7, 30, 60, and 90 days.
Cancún, Playa del Carmen, Los Algodones Starts at $8,500 One application. The same $8,500 figure is quoted for arthritis, multiple sclerosis, ALS, erectile dysfunction, and COPD.
Puerto Vallarta and Tijuana $1,200 to $4,000 per application 100 million cells intravenously $3,500; 50 million per joint $2,500; intrathecal application $1,200. Same operator also lists a Houston location.
Nayarit, near Puerto Vallarta $1,750 to $14,500 Joints $3,500; autoimmune and type 2 diabetes $11,500 each.
Panama City From $26,900 for adults $15,825 for children. Includes VIP customs clearance, ground transport, and hotel.
San José, Costa Rica $3,000 to $30,000 and above Single-area injections at the low end; comprehensive programs at the top. Travel add-ons disclosed separately.
Bangkok $1,100 to $11,991 One listing offers a 5 million cell intravenous dose with labs, a four-star hotel, and transfers for $1,100.

What those numbers tell you when you line them up

Three things, and none of them are in the marketing copy.

First, the pricing is a commodity ladder. One clinic’s published card runs 25 million cells for $3,999, 50 million for $5,499, 100 million for $9,499, and on up to 250 million for $18,499. That is priced per unit of cells, not per diagnosis. A treatment genuinely indexed to your condition would not scale that way.

Second, one clinic quotes the identical $8,500 for arthritis, multiple sclerosis, ALS, erectile dysfunction, and COPD. The International Society for Stem Cell Research lists “multiple diseases treated with the same cells” as a warning sign, and notes that different diseases would be expected to require different cell types. One price across five unrelated conditions is that warning sign in numerical form.

Third, the same brand operating in Turkey charges $4,950 for 30 million cells and $6,950 for 50 million, against its Mexican ladder starting at $3,999 for 25 million. Same operator, different country, materially different price for the same product. That is a market clearing at whatever each market will bear.

Range chart comparing published stem cell treatment prices in Mexico, the United States, and Panama, showing substantial overlap between Mexican and US orthopedic pricing.

What “COFEPRIS certified” actually means

This phrase appears on nearly every Mexican clinic page, and it is the single most misunderstood thing in this whole category.

One Tijuana clinic states on its live pricing page that it is “certified by COFEPRIS, which is equivalent to the FDA in the U.S.” The first half may be true. The second half is a category error.

COFEPRIS is Mexico’s health regulatory agency. It licenses establishments that handle cell extraction, storage, and transplantation. What it does not do, according to the peer-reviewed analysis of this exact question, is regulate the applications of these therapies. There are no specific regulations in Mexico for what stem cell therapies may be offered for which conditions.

So a COFEPRIS license attests to the building and the tissue handling. It is closer to a health inspection certificate than to a drug approval. It says nothing about whether the treatment works for your knee.

And the claim often does not check out

A 2021 study in Stem Cell Research and Therapy surveyed 110 Tijuana clinic websites and confirmed 76 physical locations. Thirteen of those clinics claimed COFEPRIS licensing. When researchers cross-checked against available official records, one matched, on both business name and address.

One out of thirteen.

The same study found that 99.1 percent of those clinic websites mentioned no academic affiliation, that the average clinic marketed 8.15 distinct conditions, that a third did not specify the cell source at all, that 55.5 percent did not mention risks anywhere, and that 38.2 percent affirmatively claimed the therapy was safe.

HOW TO ACTUALLY CHECK A CERTIFICATION CLAIM

  • Ask the clinic for the establishment license number and the exact registered business name and address on the license.
  • Compare that name and address against what appears on the website and on the invoice. Mismatches are the most common failure point.
  • Ask what the license covers. An establishment license for tissue handling is not an authorization to treat a specific condition.
  • If the clinic will not produce a number, you have the answer without needing to check anything.

What has actually gone wrong

This section is specific rather than general, because vague warnings are easy to dismiss and case reports are not.

Infections traced to Mexican clinics

In 2024 the CDC published a report on three US patients who developed Mycobacterium abscessus infections after receiving stem cell injections in Mexico in 2022. A Colorado patient in their thirties, treated for multiple sclerosis at a Baja California clinic, developed meningitis. An Arizona patient in their sixties, treated for psoriatic arthritis at a different Baja California clinic 167 miles away, developed a bone and joint infection in the right elbow. A Colorado patient in their sixties, injected in both knees for osteoarthritis in Guadalajara, developed infections in both.

As of March 2024, treatment was ongoing for all three.

Three unrelated clinics in two cities points to a supply chain or a practice pattern rather than one bad operator.

A separate 2023 report in Emerging Infectious Diseases described a patient who received intrathecal umbilical cord stem cell injections during a four-day visit to a Baja California clinic. Symptoms began the day after the second injection. Eight weeks passed before the infection was identified. Treatment required a seven-drug regimen for more than three months.

The CDC’s conclusion in that report is worth quoting: “There is no proven benefit to intrathecal stem cell treatments, and such treatments should be offered only through registered clinical trials.”

Tumors, and the latency problem

In 2016 the New England Journal of Medicine published the case of a California man disabled by a stroke who sought stem cell treatment in China, Argentina, and Mexico. He developed a glioproliferative lesion on his spinal cord, a growing mass of donor-derived cells, and new paralysis in a leg his stroke had not affected. He was left more disabled than before treatment. Press reporting put his total spend at $150,000 to $200,000.

The neurosurgeon who operated described it plainly: “It looked like nothing I had ever seen. It was stuck onto the nerves and had an odd consistency.”

An earlier case in PLoS Medicine described an Israeli boy who received fetal neural stem cell transplants in Moscow at ages 9, 10, and 12. Lesions appeared on MRI when he was 13. The resected tumor was of nonhost origin, derived from cells from at least two donors.

Note the timeline in that second case. Four years from the first injection to detection. That is the argument against “I felt fine afterward” as evidence of safety, and it applies equally to treatment received anywhere.

The case that should stop anyone from making this about geography

In 2017 the New England Journal of Medicine reported three women who received bilateral intravitreal injections of autologous adipose-derived cells for macular degeneration. Before treatment their vision ranged from 20/30 to 20/200. One year later, one had no light perception in either eye. The other two were reduced to hand motion and light perception.

That happened in Florida. The fee was $5,000. The patients had found what they believed was a clinical trial through ClinicalTrials.gov, which is a registry, not a vetting service.

The worst documented outcome in this entire literature is domestic. Anyone telling you the border is the safety line is selling something.

What a package price does not cover

Four things, and each one is a real dollar figure that does not appear on any quote.

Legal recourse

US courts generally lack personal jurisdiction over foreign physicians accused of malpractice abroad. The most-cited academic treatment of medical tourism liability notes that the US-based broker or referral company may be the only reachable defendant, which matters because several of these operators do maintain US entities and US phone numbers.

The CDC states it directly: medical tourists “should be aware that if complications develop, they might not have the same legal recourse as they would if they received their care in the United States.”

Clinic consent packets typically compel dispute resolution in the clinic’s home jurisdiction, under local law. Read the consent form before you travel, not in the waiting room, and have someone who reads Spanish read it with you if that is the language it is in.

Insurance, in both directions

Standard travel insurance excludes the thing you are traveling for. One major provider states it plainly: “Routine or elective medical care: Scheduled treatments and non-emergency care are not covered. Neither is medical tourism.”

Your US health plan will not reimburse the treatment, because no US insurer covers unproven stem cell interventions. It will generally be billed for the complication once you are admitted at a hospital in Dallas or Fort Worth.

That asymmetry is the economic core of this decision. The savings are yours. The complication is shared with your insurer, your deductible, and your time.

Follow-up care, and who provides it

A 2020 survey published in Annals of Neurology found that one in four responding academic neurologists had seen patients with complications from stem cell therapy, including infections, strokes, spinal tumors, seizures, hepatitis, nerve pain, and deaths. Only 28 percent felt completely prepared to counsel patients about it.

Meaning: if something goes wrong, the physician you present to in Texas may be seeing this for the first time, will not have your treatment records, and will not know what was in the vial. The eight-week delay to diagnosis in the meningitis case above is what that looks like in practice.

Travel risk itself

Flying shortly after a procedure carries its own considerations, including clot risk on longer flights and the practical problem of developing a fever in an airport. The CDC’s Yellow Book chapter on medical tourism is short, free, and worth reading before you book.

What is actually being sold abroad that isn’t sold here

This is the honest answer to “why can I get this there and not here,” and it is not that America is behind.

US clinics largely cannot legally sell intravenous infusions of allogeneic expanded cells, or multi-condition protocols, or the 100 to 250 million cell doses advertised abroad. The Ninth Circuit reaffirmed FDA authority over these products in September 2024, and the Supreme Court declined to hear the appeal in October 2025.

So the difference is regulatory, and the ISSCR has a specific position on exactly this arrangement. Its guidelines state that trials “should not be conducted in a foreign country solely due to less stringent regulation.”

That is the ethical description of the business model. Whether you find it disqualifying is a judgment you are entitled to make with the information in front of you.

The dose question, deflated

One Bangkok listing sells a 5 million cell intravenous dose for $1,100. One Tijuana clinic sells 250 million cells for $18,499. That is fifty times the cells for sixteen times the price, from two clinics both describing their product as stem cell therapy.

There is no established dose-response relationship for these treatments in the peer-reviewed literature. A meta-analysis focused specifically on dose found that doses at or below 25 million cells were associated with improvement and higher doses conferred no additional benefit, with meta-regression confirming no dose-response relationship.

Cell count is a pricing lever. Treating it as a measure of potency is how a $4,000 decision becomes an $18,000 one.

How big is this, actually

Nobody knows precisely, and the estimates that exist are worth understanding rather than repeating uncritically.

A 2022 review in International Health found more than 400 websites advertising stem cell-based interventions, across 21 countries on five continents. By share of clinics, the United States accounted for 27 percent, China 12 percent, India 12 percent, Thailand 11 percent, and Mexico 9 percent.

Read that distribution again. The country with the most clinics selling these interventions is the one people are flying out of.

That review put costs at $10,000 to $60,000 excluding travel, and listed the documented harms as infection, rejection, tumorigenesis, and death. Its cost range sits well above most of the current Mexican advertised prices, which suggests the market has moved downmarket since the literature was written. That is not necessarily reassuring. Cheaper often means less product, lighter testing, or a shorter protocol.

No reliable figure exists for how many Americans travel for this each year. Anyone quoting you one is estimating.

What the research says about who goes

The motivations documented in the literature are cost, perceived quality of care, long waiting times, domestic restrictions, inability to participate in clinical trials, and lack of access to unapproved treatments.

Notice how many of those are about access rather than price. The person who cannot get into a trial because their disease is too advanced, or too early, or the nearest site is 600 miles away, is not making a financial decision. They are making the only decision available to them.

That is worth holding onto if someone in your life is considering this. The useful response is rarely a lecture about regulation. It is usually help finding out whether a trial exists, what the specific clinic’s documentation looks like, and what the plan is if something goes wrong.

The domestic picture is not clean either

If this article only compared Mexico against an idealized America, it would be dishonest.

Peer-reviewed work counted 1,480 US businesses operating 2,754 clinics selling unlicensed stem cell interventions in 2021, a four-fold increase in five years. Texas had 333 clinics, second only to California and ahead of Florida. Prices ranged from $1,200 to $28,000, averaging about $5,100.

The most thoroughly documented contamination event in this field was domestic and hit Texas hardest. In 2018 the CDC reported 12 patients infected after receiving umbilical cord blood-derived products marketed as stem cell therapy. Seven were in Texas. The full investigation, published in JAMA Network Open, found 20 patients across eight states, with eight in Texas, 19 hospitalized for a median of nine days and as long as 58.

Investigators cultured 160 vials of the product. Eighty-six grew bacteria.

The Texas Department of State Health Services advised everyone who had received the product to get a full medical assessment including HIV and hepatitis testing, because the FDA had found the manufacturer was not adequately screening donors.

One Dallas physician who performs these procedures publishes his own price, just under $4,000 per joint, alongside a critique of his own industry. He notes that because there is no insurance coverage, clinicians are free to charge whatever they want, and that paying more may not mean a better result. He also warns against clinics selling umbilical cord and amniotic products as live stem cells.

That is a Dallas doctor making the same criticism of some domestic clinics that the FDA makes of clinics abroad. The line is not the border. It is the specific practice.

How to read a clinic website in ten minutes

Researchers have already done this systematically, which saves you the work of figuring out what to look for.

The 2021 Tijuana study examined 110 clinic websites and produced a set of findings that function as a checklist in reverse. Here is what they found, and what each finding means when you are looking at a page yourself.

What the study found What it means when you see it
99.1 percent mentioned no academic affiliation A clinic with a genuine research relationship names it, because it is the most valuable thing it has. Silence is informative.
An average of 8.15 conditions marketed per clinic The ISSCR lists multiple diseases treated with the same cells as a warning sign. Different conditions would be expected to require different approaches.
32.7 percent did not specify the cell source If a page does not say where the cells come from, the most basic question about the product has been left unanswered on purpose.
55.5 percent did not mention risks at all Every injection carries risk. A page with no risk section is a sales page, not a clinical one.
38.2 percent affirmatively claimed the therapy was safe A claim of no risk appears on the ISSCR warning list by name.
13 of 76 claimed COFEPRIS licensing; 1 matched records Verify rather than trust. The mismatch rate here is not marginal.

Run those six checks on any clinic page, foreign or domestic, and you will know more in ten minutes than most patients know at the point of payment.

The ISSCR patient handbook adds three more that apply anywhere: claims based on patient testimonials rather than published results, treatment protocols that are not clearly documented, and hidden or escalating costs.

The domestic option nobody mentions

There is a version of this that is free, regulated, and monitored, and almost nobody looking at overseas prices considers it.

Clinical trials. Registered on ClinicalTrials.gov, run under FDA oversight, with informed consent, institutional review board supervision, defined endpoints, and adverse event reporting. Participants are not charged.

The ISSCR is explicit about the payment point: it is not customary to pay to be in a clinical trial, and charging a research participant is often an indication of a problematic study.

Trials have real drawbacks and it would be dishonest to skip them. You may be randomized to placebo. Eligibility criteria are strict and exclude many people. Sites may be far away. Enrollment can take months. And the whole point is that nobody knows whether the treatment works, which is a genuinely different proposition from being told it will.

But the comparison is worth making explicitly. One path costs eight thousand dollars, involves a flight, has no regulatory oversight, no outcome tracking, and no recourse. The other is free, monitored, and produces data that eventually helps somebody.

Search ClinicalTrials.gov for your condition plus mesenchymal or cell therapy, filtered to recruiting studies within a driving distance you would accept. It takes about five minutes and most people have never done it.

One caution the FDA itself raises: a listing on that registry is not a vetting service. Anyone can register a study and self-assign a phase label. The three women blinded in Florida had found what they believed was a trial through the registry. Check that the study has an FDA investigational new drug authorization, that an institutional review board is named, and that you are not being asked to pay.

If you are going anyway, do these seven things

We are not going to pretend nobody reading this will book the flight. If you do, this list will materially reduce your risk.

  • Get the establishment license number, the registered business name, and the address, and verify them against official records before you pay a deposit.
  • Ask what the product is, precisely. Autologous or donor-derived, from what tissue, expanded in culture or not, and what testing the lot passed. Ask for the certificate of analysis.
  • Ask what happens if you develop a fever, and who pays. Get the answer in writing before you travel.
  • Read the consent form before you leave home, including any arbitration or choice-of-law clause. Have someone who reads the language read it with you.
  • Tell your primary care physician and any specialist you see that you are going, and what you are receiving. If a complication appears eight weeks later, that record is what shortens the diagnosis.
  • Do not schedule a flight home the same day. Build in a buffer, and know where the nearest hospital is.
  • Keep everything. Product name, lot number, dose, route, dates, the name of the person who administered it, and every receipt. If you present to a Texas emergency department in six weeks, that folder is the most useful thing you own.

The ISSCR’s patient handbook adds one more question worth asking of any provider anywhere, and it is uncomfortable by design: it is not customary to pay to be in a clinical trial, and charging a participant is often an indication of a problematic study.

Checklist infographic of seven steps to take before traveling abroad for stem cell treatment: verify the license, identify the product, get a complication plan in writing, read the consent form at home, tell your own physicians, build in a travel buffer, and keep all documentation.

Where Bee Well℠ fits in this conversation

We deliver regenerative wellness services at homes and offices across Dallas, Fort Worth, Frisco, Denton, Southern Oklahoma, and California. We have an obvious commercial interest in you not getting on a plane.

So we will be direct about what we can and cannot offer. We cannot legally provide the 100 to 250 million cell intravenous protocols advertised abroad, and neither can any other US clinic operating lawfully. If that specific thing is what you want, we are not an alternative to it and we will not pretend to be.

What we do offer is a screening conversation that is willing to end in no, licensed nurses under Texas-licensed physician oversight, LegitScript Healthcare Merchant Certification, product documentation on request, and a phone number that works after your appointment.

If you have a quote from a clinic abroad and you want a second read on what it includes and what it does not, send it to us. We will go through it with you, and we have told people the honest answer was to save their money more than once.

References

  1. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Potential Outbreak of Extrapulmonary Mycobacterium abscessus Infections Among Patients Who Received Stem Cell Injections in Mexico. MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep. 2024;73(18).
  2. Wolf D, et al. Mycobacterium abscessus Meningitis Associated with Stem Cell Treatment During Medical Tourism. Emerg Infect Dis. 2023;29(8).
  3. Berkowitz AL, Miller MB, Mir SA, et al. Glioproliferative Lesion of the Spinal Cord as a Complication of “Stem-Cell Tourism.” N Engl J Med. 2016;375(2):196-198.
  4. Amariglio N, Hirshberg A, Scheithauer BW, et al. Donor-Derived Brain Tumor Following Neural Stem Cell Transplantation in an Ataxia Telangiectasia Patient. PLoS Med. 2009;6(2):e1000029.
  5. Kuriyan AE, Albini TA, Townsend JH, et al. Vision Loss after Intravitreal Injection of Autologous “Stem Cells” for AMD. N Engl J Med. 2017;376(11):1047-1053.
  6. Chavez J, Shah NA, Ruoss S, Cuomo RE, Ward SR, Mackey TK. Online marketing practices of regenerative medicine clinics in US-Mexico border region: a web surveillance study. Stem Cell Res Ther. 2021;12:189.
  7. Lyons S, Salgaonkar S, Flaherty GT. International stem cell tourism: a critical literature review and evidence-based recommendations. International Health. 2022;14(2):132-141.
  8. Turner L. The American stem cell sell in 2021: US businesses selling unlicensed and unproven stem cell interventions. Cell Stem Cell. 2021;28(11):1891-1895.
  9. Julian K, Yuhasz N, Hollingsworth E, Imitola J. Complications from “Stem Cell Tourism” in Neurology. Ann Neurol. 2020;88(4):661-668.
  10. International Society for Stem Cell Research. A Closer Look at Stem Cells: Patient Handbook, February 2024; and ISSCR Guidelines for Stem Cell Research and Clinical Translation, 2021 update.
  11. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. CDC Yellow Book, Medical Tourism chapter.
  12. Hartnett KP, Powell KM, Rankin D, et al. Investigation of Bacterial Infections Among Patients Treated With Umbilical Cord Blood-Derived Products Marketed as Stem Cell Therapies. JAMA Netw Open. 2021;4(10):e2128615.
  13. Perkins KM, Spoto S, Rankin DA, et al. Notes from the Field: Infections After Receipt of Bacterially Contaminated Umbilical Cord Blood-Derived Stem Cell Products. MMWR. 2018;67(50):1397-1399.
  14. Mirrer-Singer P. Medical Malpractice Overseas: The Legal Uncertainty Surrounding Medical Tourism. Law and Contemporary Problems. 2007;70:211-232.
  15. United States v. California Stem Cell Treatment Center, Inc., No. 22-56014 (9th Cir. 2024); certiorari denied October 2025.

DISCLAIMER

This content is for educational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. It is not a substitute for consultation with a qualified healthcare provider. No exosome product is approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, and individual results cannot be predicted or guaranteed.

If you develop fever, spreading redness, worsening pain, or difficulty breathing after any injection or infusion, seek emergency care immediately rather than waiting to reach the practice that treated you.

Call 911 for a medical emergency.